Meet our Redistricting Commissioners

Democratic leaders have selected three new commissioners for the 2011 second Redistricting Commission. The new commissioners are ready to get to work on finding a successful plan for congressional and legislative districts in Idaho. Democratic Party State Chair Larry Grant appointed Ron Beitelspacher, Senate Minority Leader Edgar Malepeai appointed Elmer Martinez, and House Minority Leader John Rusche appointed Shauneen Grange.

State Chair Larry Grant said, “We are very pleased with our new commissioners. We know they will work in good faith to ensure the redistricting process is successful. Idahoans had faith in the redistricting process when they approved it in 1990 and we know that the process can work today if the Republicans want it to.”

Ron Betelspacher is a retired lineman with Avista Corporation who resides in Grangeville.  He served as a State Senator from 1980 to 1992 and ran for Governor of Idaho in the 1994 Democratic primary.

Elmer Martinez is also a former State Legislator, having been in office from 2001-2005. Mr. Martinez is from Pocatello.  He is a retired Firefighter/Paramedic and currently on the Board of Trustees for Pocatello Medical Center and Southeast Idaho Community Action Agency.

Shauneen Grange has worked in Idaho politics at the state, county and municipal levels. She has served as Chief of Staff for the House Minority Leader, as the Mayor’s office administrator for the City of Boise and as Field Director for the bi-partisan community college effort that resulted in the College of Western Idaho.  She was on the staff of the 2001 Redistricting Commission.


Related Posts