IDP elects new Party Chair, Van Beechler

BOISE (March 17, 2019)— The Idaho Democratic Party State Central Committee elected new party Chair Evangeline Beechler at the 25th Annual Frank & Bethine Church Gala on Saturday, March 16, 2019.

Beechler, who formerly served as the party’s 1st Vice Chair, will replace Bert Marley, who has been Chair of the IDP since August of 2015.

“It’s been an honor to serve as 1st Vice Chair, and I’m honored the State Central Committee entrusted me with the office of Chair,” Beechler said. “It’s my goal to continue the party down the path we’ve created, and to improve it with new perspectives, voices and solutions.”

Beechler has been involved in the Democratic Party for 25 years. She was first elected 1st Vice Chair of the Idaho Democratic Party in March of 2016 and is the current Parliamentarian of the Association of State Democratic Committees at the Democratic National Committee. She also founded and has served as the state chair of the LGBTA Democratic Caucus of Idaho. She looks forward to continuing to engage new voters by empowering Idaho Democrats.

“I am turning over to our new Chair a fully functioning vibrant organization,” former chair Bert Marley said. “I look forward to seeing the positive results of her leadership and new approaches to the political realities and challenges that face us as a party.”

Current Party Treasurer LeRoy Hayes was unanimously re-elected. Executive Committee members were elected and include Shem Hanks, Amanda Gill, Chelsea Gaona Lincoln, Chris Mathias, Donna Pence, Alan Humphries and MaCay Frericks.

For more information, contact IDP communications director Lindsey Johnson at 208-789-0675 or .